About Museum of National History and Archaeology Constanta
The Museum of National History and Archaeology from Constan?a has a history of more than one hundred years, a period of time which can be divided into three stages: the first and the most troubled, from 1878 to 1957, the second, from 1957 to 1977 and the last, from 1977 to the present.
The Museum of National History and Archaeology from Constan?a is one of the most diverse museums from Romania and the second largest specialised institution, after the National Museum of Romanian History from Bucharest.
The museum's troubled history begins in 1878, when the first prefect of the Romanian administration in Dobruja, Remus Opreanu, proposed the Romanian Academy that the archaeological materials, gathered at the Prefecture, through his care and the work of school inspector Ion B?nescu, be put in a museum.
During almost a century, the museum has passed through a series of declines and flourishes, being organised and disorganised and moved from one building to another.
On the 22nd of December 1957 the museum was partially opened in its new headquarter. The Museum of Archaeology from Constan?a had a basic exhibition, a restoration laboratory, a specialised library and modern furnishings.
In its new headquarter, the museum proved to be an experienced organism, characterised by a high level of professionalism. Its specialists have intervened both in rescue excavations and systematic researches on big sites. This way, the museum began to transform itself from a mere deposit of archaeological and historical goods, into an authentic research centre. Through these researches, made during 1957 and 1977, the museum from Constan?a became a renowned institution. However, its exhibits pictured history only up until the beginning of the Middle Age.
In order to complete the historical picture until the present days, the museum required a new headquarter and a new theme.
On the 25th of December 1977 was inaugurated the Museum of National History and Archaeology from Constan?a. The fact that the museum is a national one represents a high attribute for a provincial institution. This fact is justified by the scientific and propagandistic position of the institution.
The exhibition areas are placed on three levels: ground floor, first floor and second floor. At the ground floor are organised two Treasure Halls. The first floor is dedicated to the ancient and medieval history of Dobruja. On the second floor is presented the modern history and are, also, organised some themed exhibitions.
The Museum of National History and Archaeology from Constan?a has an impressive patrimony, consisting of more than 430 000 objects, dating from the Palaeolithic up to the Modern Ages.
At the ground floor of the museum are two halls, in which are exhibited archaeological monuments, with an exceptional value, rare items and unique pieces. From this section is necessary to remind the following pieces: the Glykon Snake, discovered in 1962, a unique piece in the world, representing a god from the Roman mythology (2nd centuryBC), the Fortuna with Pontos statuary group – protective gods of the port and citadel of Tomis (2nd – 3rd centuryBC), the Aedicula with the double representation of the goddess Nemesis – one of the most remarkable pieces of the Museum (2nd century BC), collections of gold, gems and cameo finery, the silver pots treasure from Sucidava – Izvoarele etc.
On the other floors of the museum, the exhibits are placed in a chronological order, beginning with the first proofs of human settlements in Dobruja and finishing with the modern ages.